Post-Migraine

Reading several of yesterday’s SOL posts gave me the idea for today’s post. I have to admit that it’s getting harder and harder to come up with a post each night! So, today’s list is of the things I like best about teaching middle school language arts:

1. The kids make me laugh                                                                                                                                                  2. I learn something new every day.                                                                                                                                3. They keep my young.                                                                                                                                                       4. It allows me to make a difference, even if it’s just to comfort hurt feelings.                                                     5. I get to do what I am passionate about, every day.                                                                                                 6. I get to share parts of my life.                                                                                                                                       7. I get to talk about great books, every day.                                                                                                                8. Being a classroom teacher allows me to grow and change and evolve, and then start all over again if I need to.

That’s all I can come up with for now. Maybe I’ll be more imspired tomorrow. I’m still feeling a little hung-over from the migraine that’s lasted most of the day.

3 responses to “Post-Migraine

  1. I am thankful there are people like you who love that age kid. I’m afraid I’d have a migraine every day if I had to cope with the hormones of those adolescents. Give me littler ones any day. Your list shows your passion.

    • I’ve taught everything from third through eighth grade and college juniors. I really liked the little ones, but I love the eighth graders. I think the YA literature and the ideas we can explore in writing are what keep me charged.

Leave a Reply

